what is best glue to secure plastic to wood

allen levine

im going to melt down assorted bottle caps, and other types of cheap plastic and want to flatten it out and glue it to a piece of wood. any suggestions on type of adhesive? it has to be easily available, nothing that I need to have a chemistry degree, oh wait, I am a chemist, but I lost my chemistry set, so Id rather purchase it in a bottle

the website suggest household goop.....so Ill purchase the smallest, at ace its 8.99, I will melt down some plastic....and do a sample piece to see how it adheres. a problem I will have potentially, is that the plastics are all different types, and I dont know the difference betweens plastics as they dont label caps or other things Im collecting. I wont go on or order anything for the projecvt until I see how well the plastic bonds to wood.

Yeah, Goop would be another good choice. It's similar (or perhaps the same) as Shoe Goo, which is pretty tenacious stuff.

I don't have anywhere enough plastic but decided to try a small piece
Melt down an alligator bag of plastic caps and eventually I will have thousands of these small vape catridges
It's insulin and I use anywhere from 100-150 a month so they will be a part of it

It melted ok seems different plastics melt at different temps but if I had a putty knife it would have all scraped off easily enough off pan
Being I saw I didn't have enough to do anything with I'll do another attempt when I save up enough plastic for one more try
After that it's either wait for a ton of plastic or abandon this stupid idea

I didn't swirl the melted plastic nor did I add any coloring
I need it to get more into a liquid state and then scrape and flatten

Attachments

• IMG_3465.jpeg
    IMG_3465.jpeg
    627.9 KB · Views: 17
I'm going to build a small wooden tray with a top that fits in snug
Line the wooden box(mold) with parchment paper and pour the melted plastic into box
Turning and pressing a few times to get out bubbles of air