Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: A Toothpick Holder Video

A Toothpick Holder Video

At the last FEWS meeting we had, a buddy of mine, Sugita San, came by to watch, he brought his video camera with him and took some video.

He is a graphic designer by trade, so I would expect his videos to better than mine, but man are they EVER better than mine

I put it up >> HERE << you can go take a look see

He had never seen anyone turn before, and he knows next to nothing about turning, so in his video, he offers no commentary, or such, and he may have edited out some critical parts, but you still get to see me turn, in all my glory on of the toothpick holders

Cheers!
    The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects it to change; the realist adjusts the sails.
    William Arthur Ward

That is great Stu!
    You buddy did a great job on the video also.
    Is that a special kind of marker you used on the finial? How did your audience like the demo? Very Cool!
    "Small Change got rained on with his own 38"

Tom Waits

Thanks Pete.

Everything went well, each and every "Jam Chuck" I did on that piece I got on the first go round, perfect

We all had a great time, spent the day, from 8:30 AM until about 4:30 PM

One of the other guys demoed how to make the closed end pens, very neat. Then we just turned a lot of stuff, I gave a demo of the Ci1 tool as well, all were impressed with that too. I got out some larger chunks of wood that had cracks or bad knots in it, stuff that would not be really worth turning, and we just practiced, some of the members, are still at a beginner's level, even though they have owned a lathe for years. It was a blast.
    The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects it to change; the realist adjusts the sails.
    William Arthur Ward

Stu,

Both were great. Thanks for sharing.
    Gordon

Thanks Gordon!