Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How do you remove tannin stains from skin?

How do you remove tannin stains from skin?

Well, I didn't take pics of my hands, but after turning a lot of cherry yesterday and the day before, my hands are a shade of dark purple-black, and it won't come off with anything I've tried so far. I really don't want to use mineral spirits on my hands unless absolutely necessary. I've tried.....dishwashing detergent, lava soap, dial, and had marginal success with an old brillo pad just scrubbing the top few layers of skin off. I used a bit of wax furniture restore/polish to get off varnish--works great, but I can't get off the black, which seems to have an affinity towards the cuticle, undersides of fingernails, and callouses. I work in a hospital, and don't really like having to explain, "its just wood tannins, my hands are clean"....

I've heard that oxalic acid works, but after looking it up, the manufacturers all say, avoid contact with skin. So, what I need are suggestions. I can't work very well in leather gloves, and the black fabric ones I have for wintertime use also leach black dye when my hands sweat in the heat (no a/c in shed).

A liberal application of time is the only thing that I have ever found to make any real difference. I work a lot of Oak and get the same thing all the time. Baby lotion type moisturiser may reduce the hue a little bit but nothing I have yet found gets rid of it. DO NOT use oxalic acid. Mineral spirits will not make any difference. This is not a colour ON the skin of your hands. It is IN the skin of your hands. Basically it will go away when that layer of skin has sloughed off. Oh and if that news makes you unhappy I can give you my wifes phone number and you can commiserate with each other!!

Nathan,

Not sure there's any solution once it's on there. Shakespeare treats the issue well:

HAMLET
    How long will a man lie i' th' earth ere he rot?

GRAVEDIGGER