Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Maximum Laminating Radius?

Maximum Laminating Radius?

Hello Everyone,
    I am planning to build a large square parabolic sun reflector. After a lot of thinking and researching an economical way to accomplish this I've decided on using strip laminate bending to create the parabolic ribs of a grid to mount an array of square mirrors on. I have never done this type of thing before and my woodworking experience consists of building tree houses and skateboard ramps as a kid.

Based on what I understand, my plan so far is this is this: Lay up a bunch of long, thin wood strips and adhesive in a large parabola-shaped form, clamp them there, let them dry, and reapeat many many times.

I know I can handle building the form. My main concern is the wood springing back at all after I take it out of the form. In all the pictures I've seen of laminates this curve radii are much smaller that what I am going to attempt. ( My parabola will be around 8 feet wide and 1.5 feet deep) It needs to be as perfect a parabola as possible or the efficiency will go way down.

Do you guys have any tips on how to reduce or eleminate springback on such a shallow curve?

Thanks a lot.

As far as I understand it, there is no need to remove the profile ribs once made the parabola.

You are interested in the interior par not the exterior, aren't you? In this way you could have some sort of torsion box with a parabola on one of its sides.

Besides, you would get plenty of flat surfaces ( four sides + bottom) to fix whatever support or base needed.
    Best regards,
    Toni

__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _________________
    web site:http://www.toniciuraneta.com
    I also dream of a shop with north light where my hands can be busy, my soul rest and my mind wander...