Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Cyclone - 94dB - building enclosure

Alpharetta GA ( Metro Atlanta)

Cyclone - 94dB - building enclosure

I work at a computer for a living and lately I have had web site side work, so I have been sitting in front of a computer WAY TOO MUCH.....

So Saturday, the wife had a class and I decided I was going to get some more work done on the Cyclone ( it's been a year !!! ).

I borrowed a dB meter ( Sound Levels ) and measured the Cyclone. It is 94 dB in the middle of the shop. THIS IS LOUD!!!. I wanted to get a baseline measurement.

My orginal plan had walls around the cyclone. So now I know to be able to use this I have to dampen the sound some.

Attachment 22628

So here we go......

Well you always needs new tools... I have a room to build for my wife very soon and saw the reviews on circular saws. I picked this one up from the Milwakee refurb store. Ended up with good deal since I got the rip fence free.

Attachment 22624

This is a GREAT saw. Very heavy duty, a button that locks the blade so you can tighten it with the allen wrench which is included and has a very good holder built into the case.

Here is the general space that has to be enclosed.

Attachment 22625

I took me about an hour of messing around with angles and space to make sure I can get the canister out of the room and get the air compressor from behind the hotwater heater/furnance.

Attachment 22626

The ceiling will present a bunch of challenges.

Attachment 22627

So That's what I did yesterday. I will add to this thread as I get more time. Should be interesting.

The db level is the important thing......

Houston, Texas
    Hi Bartee ,
    Db level is very important, to the shop, and the rest of the house. Keep us posted.
    I am a registered voter and you can be too. We ( registered voters ) select the moderators for this forum by voting every six months for the people we want to watch over this family forum.
    Please join me. Register now.
    Here is how