Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Can I ask a question about family?

Can I ask a question about family?

How do you deal with family or close friends that "expect" you to build them something?

I believe I'm going to be losing some friends.

(they offer to pay for all materials, so that justifies it in their mind. Afterall, its a hobby, I'm not a professional. People are weird.)
    Last edited by allen levine; 09-22-2008 at 03:12 AM.

This may sound "hard", but a long time ago I learned to say "no". I say it politely but firmly, and if they insist, I explain that my spare time is my own, and if they expect me to work for them during my spare time, then it's going to be expensive for them. The only exceptions to this system of mine is if I am dealing with someone whom I can trade favours with. Barter works for me. I've found that a firm but polite answer not only gets the desired effect, but also only loses friends who aren't really friends....real friends would understand and not insist.

chers

I only had one situation like that. I ignored their comment about paying for material. The conversation went something like the following:

Me: "I'll be happy to build that display case for you but you can buy an equivalent case at a store for much less than I'd have to charge you. The most expensive furniture is custom furniture because of all the labor that goes into it. But if that's what you really want, I'll work up a price for you."

Them: "Let me check the prices at the stores first."

Of course, they never mentioned it again.

Mike
    Ancora imparo
    Go into the world and do well. But more importantly, go into the world and do good.

Just tell them that you'll do it when you get around to it. You have a bunch of others projects in the works. Or tell them "I'd love to but honestly I really don't get into the shop as regularly as I would like and I may start it and never finish it."

Quote Originally Posted by allen levine View Post