Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Firefox Not displaying attachments?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Reno NV
    Posts
    13,361

    Firefox Not displaying attachments?

    Just wondering if anybody else is having a problem with firefox not displaying attachments?

    There are some threads I can view where all the images and attachments show up just fine.

    Sometimes on other threads, All the avatars and logos show up fine, but the attachments will not show up. I get a 'click for larger image' message. When I click on that, the larger image will pop up just fine.

    For example, Stephans post on his excellent wall unit will show a batch of thumbnails just fine ( http://www.familywoodworking.org/for...ad.php?t=11116 )

    But when I look at my post on the pot rack in firefox, all I get is the 'click' message. ( http://www.familywoodworking.org/for...ad.php?t=11157 )

    In IE everything seems to work just fine. And this seems to be a recent thing.

    Just wondering. Not a huge issue, just perplexing...
    Last edited by Brent Dowell; 10-05-2008 at 03:56 PM.
    Programmer - An organism that turns coffee into software.
    If all your friends are exactly like you, What an un-interesting life it must be.
    "A door is what a dog is perpetually on the wrong side of" Ogden Nash


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    No, not all of SoCal is Los Angeles!
    Posts
    9,076
    I've had the experience as well. At first I only saw it on Stu's posts but then realized his were just the most recent pics posted. It happens on my own posts when I use Firefox and then return to view things.

    We use several browsers at work as some products are designed for IE6 and have issues with 7 and so on. Some products will not use certs with Firefox, many don't care. I avoid the issue by using the recommended browser for a given product.

    My understanding is that Firefox 'shouldn't' be an issue with vBulletin; but off and on, it is. The preview of the thumbnails breaks and I often have (had) to re-login to see the pics. I just use IE on vBulletin products and have never had the problem again. I still avoid Chrome (although it is looking promising) and Safari but imagine Webkit based products will improve at being universally 'usable' as time marches on.
    Last edited by glenn bradley; 10-05-2008 at 04:54 PM.
    Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic.
    - Arthur C. Clarke

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Thomasville, GA
    Posts
    5,998
    I use Firefox all the time and haven't seen any issue, as long as I'm still logged in. I have a desktop in the home office connected directly to my router. My shop desktop is wireless to the router, as is my laptop. Apparently, the wireless security routinely disconnects a login after a period of inactivity. My office computer automatically logs in when I come to the site. I'm setup for automatic updates -- current version is 3.0.3.
    Bill Arnold
    Citizen of Texas residing in Georgia.
    NRA Life Member and Member of Mensa
    My Weather Underground station

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Between Aledo and Fort Worth, TX
    Posts
    2,784
    I use FF, and never saw that...until I went and looked at the thread you said...Then I noticed I wasn't logged in. Log in, and the thumbnail shows up fine. Check to see if running an adware program didn't kill your cookies. I ran mine last night, and bet something there killed my log in cookie. Jim.
    Coolmeadow Setters...
    Exclusively Irish!
    Home of Irish Setter Rescue of North Texas
    When Irish Eyes are smiling, they're usually up to something!!
    At a minimum, I'm Pentatoxic...but most likely, I'm a Pentaholic. There seems to be no known cure. Pentatonix, winners of The Sing Off, season 3


  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Kansas City, Missouri
    Posts
    13,452
    I don't see the issue in version 3.0.3. What version are you on?
    Darren

    To a small child, the perfect granddad is unafraid of big dogs and fierce storms but absolutely terrified of the word “boo.” – Robert Brault

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Reno NV
    Posts
    13,361
    I'm running 3.0.3. All set for automatic updates and all.

    Even if I make sure I'm logged in I still see it sometimes.

    It's the darndest thing. Must be a firefox bug, or some arcane registry setting.
    Programmer - An organism that turns coffee into software.
    If all your friends are exactly like you, What an un-interesting life it must be.
    "A door is what a dog is perpetually on the wrong side of" Ogden Nash


  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Kansas City, Missouri
    Posts
    13,452
    Are you using a straight internet connection or going through a proxy? Or any internet monitoring software for that matter? Sometimes these cause issue with images and caching.
    Darren

    To a small child, the perfect granddad is unafraid of big dogs and fierce storms but absolutely terrified of the word “boo.” – Robert Brault

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Reno NV
    Posts
    13,361
    Straight Connection, No proxy.

    Funny thing is, the affected threads are displaying correctly today...
    Programmer - An organism that turns coffee into software.
    If all your friends are exactly like you, What an un-interesting life it must be.
    "A door is what a dog is perpetually on the wrong side of" Ogden Nash


  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    No, not all of SoCal is Los Angeles!
    Posts
    9,076
    Quote Originally Posted by Brent Dowell View Post
    the affected threads are displaying correctly today...
    I'm sorry to say; thank goodness this is happening to someone else. everyone thought I was goofy so I just stopped talking about it and use IE. It really does happen though and not always the same posts (even in the same session).
    Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic.
    - Arthur C. Clarke

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Reno NV
    Posts
    13,361
    Quote Originally Posted by glenn bradley View Post
    I'm sorry to say; thank goodness this is happening to someone else. everyone thought I was goofy so I just stopped talking about it and use IE. It really does happen though and not always the same posts (even in the same session).
    Yup. You got that right. Today, it seems to be working fine.

    One of those things about modern technology...
    Programmer - An organism that turns coffee into software.
    If all your friends are exactly like you, What an un-interesting life it must be.
    "A door is what a dog is perpetually on the wrong side of" Ogden Nash


Similar Threads

  1. Firefox id DEAD
    By Leo Voisine in forum Off Topic Discussion
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 06-01-2016, 02:39 AM
  2. Is Firefox Flashing Me?
    By Rennie Heuer in forum Off Topic Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-03-2014, 04:03 PM
  3. Firefox???
    By Bart Leetch in forum Site Questions and Test Posts
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-25-2010, 01:25 AM
  4. Displaying new post in only certain subforums
    By Mike Henderson in forum Site Questions and Test Posts
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-07-2009, 06:07 AM
  5. Firefox 2.0.0
    By Doug Jones in forum Off Topic Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-04-2006, 07:00 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •