Thompson V shape bowl gouge or U shape

Keith Palmer

I am looking at putting new Thompson bowl gouges on my christmas list. But being new to turning not sure as to which shape is better.

What are your preferences the V or U shape and why?

Thanks in advance for your opinions!
Keith

http://www.woodcentral.com/cgi-bin/turning3.pl?read=187188

Check out that thread from over on woodcentral discussing generic 'beginner's gouges' a couple of months back. Several 'heavy hitters' weighed in, but the gist was '1/2" either U or V' and simply start turning.

fwiw, I'm just starting out and have a couple to choose from thanks to the occasional RAK and picking up two sets of tools over the past two years.

Keith, I have both and use both. I tend to use the V on the outsides of bowls, and prefer the U on the inside. I guess if I were to have to pick one, it'd probably be the U, since (for me) it's a bit more versatile. (I still probably use the V more often, though...I know, I'm not helping.)

I'd say put both on your list. You'll be happy with either one, and if you've been a very good boy this year, Santa might even bring you both. ;)

V or U shape

I also have them both and use them both.Some folks like the V and some folks like the U and do an excelent job with either one,so basiclly you may want to try them both and decide which one work better for you.Guess I didn't help much either :dunno:

Disclaimer: I am no moderater nor administrator on this site, so my opinion has no more weight or authority than anyone elses.