Oneway vs. SuperNova vs. Barracuda

Hi Guys,

I imagine this one should generate a bit of discussion! I'm going to get my first chuck for Xmas and have narrowed it down to the Oneway Talon, Super Nova 2, or Barracuda 2. I'm new to the chuck world and am having a hard time deciding.

Criteria:
1. I turn almost only bowls between 8 - 12". But, I am interested in doing some pepper shakers and hollow forms in the future.
2. My current lathe has 1" 8TPI spindle. I plan on upgrading lathes before too long and want to be able to reuse my chuck.
3. Basically no spindle work.

From Amazon:
1. Barracuda 2 - $168
2. Super Nova 2 - $184
3. Oneway Talon - $230

The Super Nova and Talon are basically the same kit, they come with a single set of jaws (#2).

The Barracuda comes with 4 sets of jaws (#1 step jaws, #2 round jaws, #3 round jaws, and pin jaws).

I don't completely understand what all the different jaws mean and what each is used for? Does anyone have a good reference to this? Based on my work, would I use all the jaws that come with barracuda or would they just sit around while one set gets used?

I don't mind spending a bit of extra money for either the super nova or oneway (although the oneway is getting up there) as part of a good investment if there are significant reasons for them over the barracuda.

What are the recommendations?

Dawson, when ye said...."The Barracuda comes with 4 sets of jaws (#1 step jaws, #2 round jaws, #3 round jaws, and pin jaws).

I don't completely understand what all the different jaws mean and what each is used for? Does anyone have a good reference to this? Based on my work, would I use all the jaws that come with barracuda or would they just sit around while one set gets used?".....

Ye pretty much summed up the advantages of getting the 'cudda over the others. The jaws are different sizes, the pin is d'frnt shape also. Adds versatility to whatever ye want to hold.