Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Wanting a new lathe.

Wanting a new lathe.

Hi Folks: this is my first post on here. I am new to lathing. inherited my dad's old beaver lathe. I have turned about a dozen bowls and some more small stuff, and realize I really like turning. So now I am looking for a nice lathe. Around the 2000 dollar mark. I have seen some videos with the DVR XP. And I would like to know your thoughts on it if anyone would like to jump in.

Thanks

Joe Penney
    Last edited by Joe Penney; 12-06-2008 at 02:50 AM.

Joe, first Welcome to the Family.

Glad to see another turner too! I'm sure many will chime in to give you some advice on a great lathe in your price range.

The DVR, Jet 1642 and the Grizzly clone of it are some good starts...If you get a chance please post some pics of your pieces...we love pictures.
    A man is rich in proportion to the number of things he can afford to let alone. -Henry David Thoreau
    My Website

Quote Originally Posted by Jeff Bower View Post
    Joe, first Welcome to the Family.

Glad to see another turner too! I'm sure many will chime in to give you some advice on a great lathe in your price range.

The DVR, Jet 1642 and the Grizzly clone of it are some good starts...If you get a chance please post some pics of your pieces...we love pictures.
    That Grizzly is the G0632, worth considering
    Welcome, hope to see you around.

welcome joe sorry you got the obsession already but you are in the right clinic for help,,there are many here that are afllicted with the turners disease,, althought i am one of them who has reamined immune to it
    If in Doubt, Build it Stout!
    One hand washes the other!
    Don't put off today till tomorrow!

Quote Originally Posted by larry merlau View Post
    welcome joe sorry you got the obsession already but you are in the right clinic for help,,there are many here that are afllicted with the turners disease,, althought i am one of them who has reamined immune to it