Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: How long exactly are you a woodworker?

How long exactly are you a woodworker?

Not counting time when you were a kid, unless you were actually being trained at a young age.
    Im really curious, just wanting to see whos got wood running through their veins instead of blood.

I've only started doing anything with wood when I started turning about 1 yr ago. So I have almost no equipment & am slowly acquiring some.

I have been a woodworker all my life.

I was finally able to be a PRACTICING woodworker 5 years ago (almost to the day!) when I finally got a home with enough space for an actual shop. Before that all I could do was with a drill, jigsaw and maybe a couple of sanding blocks.

I've always been a tinkerer, though, and would long to work with my hands as far back as I can remember.
    Jason Beam
    Sacramento, CA

since about 8y/o......professionally well over 20yrs
    [SIZE="1"] associated with several importers and manufacturers.[/SIZE]

On and off (mostly off) about 25 years, when I had room. Most of the time I had little or no shop to work from and equipment was in storage (are you listening Ned?) For the past 8 years or so I've been trying to get more and more done in the shop, but life keeps getting in the way.
    Host of the 2017 Family Woodworking Gathering - Sunken Wood

“We all die. The goal isn't to live forever; the goal is to create something that will.” - Chuck Palahniuk
    www.wrworkshop.com

I've been around it my whole life, but got started on my own somewhat around 2000 with a few tools and then started to spin wood in Dec. 2006...been addicted ever since.
    A man is rich in proportion to the number of things he can afford to let alone. -Henry David Thoreau
    My Website