Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: How long exactly are you a woodworker?

new york city burbs

How long exactly are you a woodworker?

Not counting time when you were a kid, unless you were actually being trained at a young age.
    Im really curious, just wanting to see whos got wood running through their veins instead of blood.

Rhode Island
    I've only started doing anything with wood when I started turning about 1 yr ago. So I have almost no equipment & am slowly acquiring some.

Sacramento, CA
    I have been a woodworker all my life.

I was finally able to be a PRACTICING woodworker 5 years ago (almost to the day!) when I finally got a home with enough space for an actual shop. Before that all I could do was with a drill, jigsaw and maybe a couple of sanding blocks.

I've always been a tinkerer, though, and would long to work with my hands as far back as I can remember.
    Jason Beam
    Sacramento, CA

since about 8y/o......professionally well over 20yrs
    [SIZE="1"] associated with several importers and manufacturers.[/SIZE]

Constantine, MI
    On and off (mostly off) about 25 years, when I had room. Most of the time I had little or no shop to work from and equipment was in storage (are you listening Ned?) For the past 8 years or so I've been trying to get more and more done in the shop, but life keeps getting in the way.
    “We all die. The goal isn't to live forever; the goal is to create something that will.” - Chuck Palahniuk

DSM, IA
    I've been around it my whole life, but got started on my own somewhat around 2000 with a few tools and then started to spin wood in Dec. 2006...been addicted ever since.
    A man is rich in proportion to the number of things he can afford to let alone. -Henry David Thoreau
    My Website