Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: chain saw adjustment

chain saw adjustment

I dont know where to put this, and I dont have an instruction booklet for this tool.
    Bought it maybe 18 years ago? Used it to cut the logs to size for a fire place I had back then for 10 years.

I lent it to my brotherinlaw, and it came back with the piece that holds the chain/blade loose, and the chain falls off when I run it.
    Im sure the middle screw here adjusts it, but how tight do I make this thing?
    How do I know the correct tension on the chain?
    I just dont want to put it away again unusable, in case I need to grab it for anything.
    Any help would be appreciated.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails wood stuff 395 (Medium).jpg   wood stuff 396 (Medium).jpg  

Quote Originally Posted by allen levine View Post
    ...Im sure the middle screw here adjusts it, but how tight do I make this thing? How do I know the correct tension on the chain...
    I'm not an expert on chain saws, but I keep my chain tensioned almost firm, but not tight. I can lift the chain off the top of the bar maybe an 1/8" or so.

I'd suggest going ahead and taking the bar off completely (it's very easy...just undo the nut you can see holding it on) and cleaning everything before putting it back together. When you do that, I think you'll also be able to see how the tensioning screw works.
    When the going gets weird, the weird turn pro. - Hunter S. Thompson
    When the weird get going, they start their own forum. - Vaughn McMillan

workingwoods.com

Allen,