Another newbie in the midst

Jim Olson

Hey guys

Just joined, I saw that a good friend of mine, Mario, is a member here but it looks like he hasn't been on for a while. I know he's getting his shop going now so it should be interesting and a lot of fun for him. His craftsmanship is getting better and better all the time! He and I were both blessed with the ability to build stuff and we get it from our dads.

I've been working with wood in one form or another most of my life. I don't have any fancy tools, just the basics but I looooooooooove working with wood. I have built decks, sheds, even a couple of book cabinets and counter tops for the house but my most involved projects were electric guitars. I built four from scratch and enjoyed building them tremendously.

I'm married with two teens, one is in college now. My wife and I both work at our local school with her in the kitchen and me being the technology director. I don't want to bore you with too much more but I am a musician, love motorcycles, premium cigars, sports, music, so many things... and I'm back in school going for a business management degree so I don't have much spare time these days.

So far I've seen a ton of great information here, it looks like there are some very knowledgeable people.

Hi Jim. What do you suggest as to a good cigar? I am thinking of taking up a couple of vices after all this clean living and something about cigars sounds appealing.

Ooh...guitars! We want pictures!

If I could stop turning on the lathe long enough, I'd really like to build a guitar or three. I've built solid bodies to bolt necks onto, but I'd like to make a steel string acoustic, as well as a glue-on neck electric. I've already got more guitars than I can play, but I still want to make some.

Welcome aboard, Jim. :wave:

Hi Jim. What do you suggest as to a good cigar? I am thinking of taking up a couple of vices after all this clean living and something about cigars sounds appealing.