Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Porter Cable 890 Router Collets

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    South East Michigan
    Posts
    84

    Porter Cable 890 Router Collets

    I purchased a new router and none of my 1/4" router bits will fit in the 1/4" collet. Has anyone else had this problem? I have ordered a new 1/4" collet and a new 3/8" collet to see if there is any difference.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    No, not all of SoCal is Los Angeles!
    Posts
    9,076
    As in, they won't tighten or they won't go in in the first place? I had a DW618 that I had to force 1/4" bits into. I ended up getting a different brand but I have had the experience.
    Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic.
    - Arthur C. Clarke

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    South East Michigan
    Posts
    84
    Glenn:

    I cant get the bits to fit into the collet. I can't even force the bits into the collet. I will see what happens with the new ones.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Salt Spring Island, BC Canada
    Posts
    2,070
    Kevin I just picked up the 890 the other day and after reading this post I had to go and check mine and there is no problem with my 1/4 inch bits with the collet. Sorry wish that I had better news for you in that I had the same problem.
    Daily Thought: SOME PEOPLE ARE LIKE SLINKIES..... NOT REALLY GOOD FOR ANYTHING BUT THEY BRING A SMILE TO YOUR FACE WHEN PUSHED DOWN THE STAIRS...............

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    South East Michigan
    Posts
    84
    Drew:

    Thanks for checking. As soon as my new collets come in I will check them and see if they still have the problem. I will post here after I check.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Albany, GA
    Posts
    52
    Kevin,

    I had the exact same problem on my 690. The 1/4" collet wouldn't take a 1/4" bit no matter what I did. I was advised to try and knock one in there to spread it out a bit so it would take one. All I did was booger up my bit and break the collet trying to get it out. Good call on getting a new one...it's bound to be easier to deal with.

    I think there is some kind of problem in the manufacturing of their 1/4" collets, if they're the same that is.

Similar Threads

  1. Porter-Cable 690LR 1 3/4HP Router - Grizzly
    By Darren Wright in forum Hot Deals
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-13-2012, 03:22 AM
  2. Porter Cable router and table question
    By Ron Jones in forum General Woodworking Q&A
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-16-2012, 02:39 AM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-07-2011, 08:45 PM
  4. Porter Cable router edge guide SOLD!!!
    By Craig Johnson in forum Old Ads
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-07-2009, 03:51 PM
  5. Porter Cable router microprocessor problems?
    By Jim O'Dell in forum New Tools
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-06-2007, 01:55 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •