Thread: More Questions: Router/Jointer

More Questions: Router/Jointer

Will try to keep these Brief

* Will the SKIL-1825 possibly use the same 3/Hole pattern as an older Craftsman Router?

I am Pre-drilled into a new Phelonic Insert and would like to have both 1/4 + 1/2 Collets, and additional power

* Any suggestions on learning to properly use a new Router table? Need to learn best way to set-up fence, calculate Depth of Cut/Height adjustments, etc.

Any specific Books recommended

Are the 6" Bench-top Jointers worth owning, or can you do as well with the Router for this?

Thamks,

Bruce N.

Bruce, where are you geographically? If you're close by I could give you a hands-on show and tell that might speed up your learning curve. Not that I'm an expert but, I learn a lot faster if someone shows me how to do something and then I actually do it. I'm in SoCal about 60 miles east of Los Angeles. Just an offer.
    Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic.
    - Arthur C. Clarke

Re-Classed Post: Router/Jointer Questions

Will try to keep these Brief* Will the SKIL-1825 possibly use the same 3/Hole pattern as an older Craftsman Router?I am Pre-drilled into a new Phelonic Insert and would like to have both 1/4 + 1/2 Collets, and additional power* Any suggestions on learning to properly use a new Router table? Need to learn best way to set-up fence, calculate Depth of Cut/Height adjustments, etc. Any specific Books recommendedAre the 6" Bench-top Jointers worth owning, or can you do as well with the Router for this?

Note- I mistakenly posted this in the "Classified" area first

Thanks,Bruce N.

Bruce, I know nothing about the Skil and Craftsman routers, so I'm no help on that question. As far as learning to use a router table, I've seen this book recommended by others in the past:

Bill Hylton's Ultimate Guide to the Router Table