Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Some things I have come to realize...

Some things I have come to realize...

So out in the shop this evening I realized some things...
    Keep in mind that I am pretty new to woodworking and have probably less than 20 or so projects under my belt, but I do generally know right away if I like something or not, so here goes...
    I like Chuck's Makita Chop saw that I use on the job site far better than the Hitachi one that is out in the shop. (Probably for the same reason some of you feel the opposite.) The Hitachi seems to have way more *oomph*, to use a polite word. I find that the saw either sucks the wood in or pushes it out as I am making the cut, just enough to screw up my piece every time. I also don't like the additional weight of it in comparison to the Makita. It would be nice if the Makita had the same laser site that the Hitachi has, but other than that I find the green one to be stupid
    Next on the list.... I am not a (flat work) wooden box maker. I might be a box maker if I could figure out a better way to do it, but all that trying to get it lined up right and glued up right and everything else before it gets all out of whack is just not for me. Not to mention what a pain it is to sand the darn thing when you are done.
    Which brings me the the next epiphany... I do NOT enjoy using hand held power tools. How you all spend so many years using those things amazes me, after 5 minutes my hands are numb... there is no enjoyment in that for me.
    So all this leads me to believe I should stick with jewelry, spinny things (as Larry so lovingly calls them), forks and the like that I can make using bench top tools and hand finishing. Oh, and taking the pictures and doing shop layout and all that other end of the good stuff ;
    Dragon's Paradox - ** working on updates ** Custom and One Of A Kind Heirloom Quality Hand Crafted Jewelry & Gifts

Wow - Kalea has 20 projects under her belt?