Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: pro

pro

Just wondering how many wannabees are out there. You know wanna new tool, wanna a new shop and wannabee a pro. Would like to hear how many want to do woodworking for a living and how many made there dreams come true and how they managed to make it work for them. I know I would like to start a small shop when I retire. I have several areas that I like to do. Would like to incorporate all of them into one type of business. I have always loved woodworking,making 18th century longrifles and hand forged knives. I have been making a few 18th century style country furniture and chest. I have made a few sets of hand forged hardware for some of my chest. But for now I still have to work for a living so I just continue to try to improve my skills and learn. Any other stories, I would love to hear from your experiences and ideals. How did you get to fulfill your dreams?

Myself, I am not a pro so maybe this is not what you want to hear either.

I am not sure I am all cranked up to be a pro so I can make a living at it, but I would like to think that I think outside the box and do some very custom, very unique projects. Building a train shaped cradle for my daughter for instance, or building a heart shaped crib complete with lovetails instead of dovetails. To less of an extent, my highly detailed wooden models could be included as unique as well.

I guess my frustration with woodworking is that some of these very unique woodworking projects go largely unnoticed.

If my dream was to become reality (and please don't laugh too hard), it would be to build that heart shaped crib, complete with lovetails and heart shaped spindles, and then donate it to the Make a Wish Foundation for auction. I think with that sort of exposure, a winning bid would be high and thus a dying child's final wish could be granted, the winning bidder would have one of a kind item, and I would get the recognition for building something high end and unique.