bugs in cedar

Ralph Tafoya

i got some cedar local here in colorado. found worms in the wood close to the heart wood. how do you get rid of them before you turn the pieces for bowls?next what are tags for and what are they used for and how?you know down at the bottom of the text box.

Why are you denying those bugs a free ride on your lathe?? Chuck it up, turn it on and start cutting. When you collect enough bugs, take a break and go fishing then when you run out of bugs, go back to turning! Larry isn't a turner, but bet he would agree with this philosophy!;)

I don't have any better advice than Jonathans. :rofl:

The tags are used to specify keywords that refer to the content of your post. There is a new Tag Search option under Search that one can search for posts with specific tags.

Ralph, I've never tried to get rid of the bugs before turning. Between the turning and the DNA bath, the mortality rate is 100%. You may have to clean your face shield a bit more often, but the bug holes make for an interesting finished piece.

By the way, you'll notice I added two tags to this thread. That way, if anyone searches for either of those two words with the new "Tag Search" feature, they will find this thread easily.

i got some cedar local here in colorado. found worms in the wood close to the heart wood. how do you get rid of them before you turn the pieces for bowls?next what are tags for and what are they used for and how?you know down at the bottom of the text box.

Don't know about the tags... never use them myself..

Re the bugs.. only problem you may run into, if they're still alive, they do tend to splatter when you hit them with a gouge....:eek::eek::eek:
keep your mouth closed, unless you are another Bear Grylls.:rofl::eek: