Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: First turning chisels

First turning chisels

I'm relatively new to turning. I've been turning pens off and on for a while now, but all of my tools (and lathe) are borrowed. I'm borrowing the lathe from a student and the chisels from the shop I manage.
    Recently I lost access to the chisels because a class needs them, so now I'm looking to take my first baby step and actually buy my own tools (what a concept).
    Should I spend an arm and a leg buying higher quality tools? Or, since this is my first chisel purchase, should I go with a cheap set that sells for 30$ or so?
    I do plan on doing more turning in the future and even invest in my own lathe, which points toward buying higher quality tools that will last a life time. On the other hand, money is tight as everyone knows, which would point toward the cheaper option.
    I guess this all boils down to--will I get decent enough results with a cheap set and will they last long enough to fulfill my turning needs until I get better ones?

Thanks.

Experiences vary, or at least the reports do, concerning so-called 'cheap' sets. I started with one and still have one or two of the tools left. I have no complaints with them. Using them will teach you how to sharpen as it is needed more often than with high quality (expensive) steels.
    For advice......I'm a thinkin' as I'm a typin'.....ye know.....I believe, knowing what I know now and starting out with the budget I had....I would do the same thing....buy an inexpensive set and build from there.
    Only thing I would do different is that I bought a fairly good set of micro tools. That proved to be a waste. Some might like, but keep in mind, a point is a point is a point. Ye can make tiny cuts with big tools. A 1" skew can be yer nearly 'everything' tool.
    Watch for garage sales and classified ads in your local area. I have picked up a bunch of excellent tools and never paid more than $5.00 each for them.