Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Spindle sander questions

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Delton, Michigan
    Posts
    17,472

    Spindle sander questions

    ok first thing, this was origanlly running on 220, a 1hp motor..
    amps: 14 @120 and 7 @ 220. so i can run it either way. i have both, but alot more postioning areas for 120 then 220.. so what is your opinions on what i should run it at? next question, where is the best place to get sleve's for it, and what grit do you prefer? thansk for the help folk
    If in Doubt, Build it Stout!
    One hand washes the other!
    Don't put off today till tomorrow!

  2. #2
    Larry if you have the circuit capacity to run on 120 then do it. I worked in one shop were the tablesaw would always bog down if you cut to fast. The saw had 12 ga. wire running to it but was about 80' from the panel. because of the distance and current draw the voltage would drop on that long run. When I redid the connections on the motor to 220, the problem went away because the current draw was cut in half. As long as your hookup isn't to long you should be allright on 120.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Delton, Michigan
    Posts
    17,472
    Alan i am 52 ft from breaker on 12 gauge wire. and seperate circuit.gang box 4 recpts.
    If in Doubt, Build it Stout!
    One hand washes the other!
    Don't put off today till tomorrow!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Kea'au Hawaii. Just down the road from Hilo town!
    Posts
    1,357
    I'd use up one of the 220v slots Larry. The machine will start so much faster and won't dim the lights on you when if fires off. At least that was my experience when I switched my old TS over to 220v years ago.
    Aloha,

    What goes around, comes around.

  5. #5
    That mightbe cutting it close. You can hook it up and try it. Won't hurt anything but you might be better off on 220. Before I converted that tablesaw you could hear the wires jump around in the conduit when you turned the saw on.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Delton, Michigan
    Posts
    17,472
    well i can always make another 220 circuit, i got space in the panel and the wire is already heavy enough to do so. one more time conduit has come threw for me! this isnt a big draw machine, like a table saw is.. good thing.. wouldnt want to be slung across the shop when i hit the drum to sand a curve.. any suggestion on grit or sleve source?
    If in Doubt, Build it Stout!
    One hand washes the other!
    Don't put off today till tomorrow!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    falcon heights, minnesota
    Posts
    5,610
    dunno if'n it'll hep larry, but i've gots wun o dem delta boss spindle sanders, an i pick up my sleeves at rockler. i usually use about a 120 on mine.
    benedictione omnes bene

    www.burroviejowoodworking.com

    check out my etsy store, buroviejowoodworking

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Billings Missouri near Springfield Mo
    Posts
    4,552
    I used 80 and 120 grits on mine when I had one (sure miss it) and the Delta's seem to work a well as any
    Jay

Similar Threads

  1. Spindle Sander
    By Stuart Ablett in forum New Tools
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 08-11-2015, 09:47 PM
  2. spindle sander
    By allen levine in forum New Tools
    Replies: 70
    Last Post: 06-14-2012, 06:48 PM
  3. Anyone know anything about this spindle sander?
    By Tom Baugues in forum General Woodworking Q&A
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-10-2011, 02:19 AM
  4. Jet ovs spindle sander
    By Jeff Horton in forum General Woodworking Q&A
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-30-2011, 11:43 PM
  5. Grizzly Spindle Sander Help
    By Ben Roman in forum General Woodworking Q&A
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-14-2008, 03:14 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •