Passions outside of woodworking

Some of the recent posts coupled with some frustration on my part in the shop of late, have started me thinking about hobbies and passions we might have away from the workbench. For me it's music, specifically my trumpet. I've been playing for 30 years and never grow tired of it. Just like with woodworking, I get frustrated at times when I can't do what I see others do or what I want to do but those times when everything comes together more than makes up for it.

My trumpet paid for college (music scholarship), paid my bills for a while, helped me through the military (drum and bugle, honor guard, etc), and helps me keep my sanity now. If I can't toot I'll go make some sawdust and if I don't have an opportunity for sawdust I'll go toot. I still play in my church and for special events for veterans and military events, etc.

So, what are your passions away from the table saw or lathe?

Mine's the guitar. Regardless of whatever artistic pursuits I may attempt, I'll always consider myself a guitarist above all other skills. Unfortunately, for the past few years I've not picked one up and played nearly as much as I should. My current home office/studio is pretty cramped, and it's just not real conducive to playing the guitar. So I end up out in the shop instead, using the lathe as my primary creative outlet.

I actually write stuff. It's really the only thing I do well. Oh, and I've done some gardening. ;)

Of course, my only true passion is Doorlink, but we won't go there... :rofl:

Oh, and about the trumpet: some of those military musicians are awfully good. There's lots of competition for chairs in their bands round these parts... :thumb:

Thanks,

Bill

Last edited:
Unfortunately, for the past few years I've not picked one up and played nearly as much as I should.