Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How do you make 1/4 inch wood LOL

How do you make 1/4 inch wood LOL

OK so I am a real beginner, and this is probably a simple question but:

I bought a book on making boxes, and the first box is very simple except for that fact that it is calling for 1/4 inch thick wwod.
    I have made quite a few things so far but most have been made with 3/4 inch stock that I did not have to rip.

I have a table saw and and Band saw, I do not have jointer or a planner.

What is the best way to make these 1/4 inch peices for this small box?

The largest peice is 5 1/8 X 3 1/8 so it is a very small box.

Not sure what material I will make it out of, I probably have some scrap poplar that I can use or I can get some red Oak or other harder wood.

Your assistance would be appreciated.

Thanks
    Dan
    Dan Thibert
    Leominster MA

Quote Originally Posted by Dan Thibert View Post
    OK so I am a real beginner, and this is probably a simple question but:

I bought a book on making boxes, and the first box is very simple except for that fact that it is calling for 1/4 inch thick wwod...I have a table saw and and Band saw, I do not have jointer or a planner.

What is the best way to make these 1/4 inch peices for this small box?...Dan
    Dan,
    Since you have a bandsaw, and the pieces are only three, or so, inches wide, you should be able to easily resaw the " stock to get two pieces of quarter inch

Do you have a hand plane? For such small pieces, even a little block plane will do.

If no plane at all, then you'll have to resort to sanding. Wrap the paper around a block of wood, and have at it. Start with 60 or 80 grit, and work up to 220, being careful not to take too much off the edges or corners.

It's all extra work, but easily doable.
    Jim D.
    Adapt, Improvise, Overcome!

Bandsaw would be best. But, it would have to be a good bandsaw with a proper fence and blade. If all is not right with those, you will end up with a mess.