Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Recommend a sprayer?

Recommend a sprayer?

I'm a hobbyist... I turn out 3-4 big projects per year. The one I'm finishing now is a diamond pattern wall hanging wine rack...http://www.djmarks.com/woodworks/203.asp

Actually, I've made two of these to fit in a nook in our wine grotto. Anyway, I'm really happy with how they turned out and I started using water based poly to finish but I quickly found it very difficult to be brushing the poly in the deep crevices of each opening. Even with a long brush handle, it is very hard to apply nice even strokes.

I have always been reluctant to invest in a sprayer but this project may be the perfect catalyst for such an expense. Would anyone mind recommending a medium quality sprayer for a hobbyist? Again, we're talking about something I'd use a few times a year.. doesn't have to be industrial strength.

Thanks in advance!
    -dan

Hi,

For my sake, I hope you get some good answers for me to read.

Enjoy,

Jim
    First of all you have to be smarter than the machine.
    VOTING MEMBER

i`ve known folks to recomend the portercable gravity feed hvlp, but i`ve not used it?
    http://www.amazon.com/Porter-Cable-P.../dp/B00005R1IK
    [SIZE="1"] associated with several importers and manufacturers.[/SIZE]

i was taught on one of those that tods shows and have had good success with it,, have sprayed stain , shellac. and lacguer with it.. have a wagner hvlp set that can be gotten for around $100 to $200, and have used stain , poly and lacquer threw it.. worked well.. but i went with porter cable afterwards becasue of the smaller cup size..will try to find the link for the wagner.. they were sold threw gleem paint sales...
    http://www.gleempaint.com/hvcongunw2qr.html this what i have from gleem
    Last edited by larry merlau; 05-08-2009 at 11:27 AM.
    If in Doubt, Build it Stout!
    One hand washes the other!
    Don't put off today till tomorrow!

Recommend a sprayer?