Thread: Three Quick Mortise and Tenon Questions

Three Quick Mortise and Tenon Questions

This is my first time doing them and I though i should ask a couple questions before finishing them off.

First am I correct from what I've picked up from various places that the tightness should be about where you need a hammer to tap it in under its own weight, aka let the hammer do the work and dont try and actully hammer it in.

Second if I plan on shooting in 2-4 brads along with the use of glue that I would be able to make the fit tight but able to be pushed in by hand or should I still keep it to haveing to tap it in.

Third, better to brad when the glue is wet or set?

Focusing your life on only one path does nothing but close your mind to the infinite possibilities that surround us.

Think out side the box for the box is small, cold, dark, and doesn’t have cookies.

No, not all of SoCal is Los Angeles!
    I shoot for a tight hand fit but perfection eludes me at times ;-). If I have to give it mallet tap or two that's OK with me. I put glue inside the mortise as opposed to on the tenon. I clamp for at least 30 - 40 minutes but leave the clamps on overnight if it won't slow me down. I don't use brads.
    Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic.
    - Arthur C. Clarke

Oklahoma City, OK

Remember that what you're going for is to increase the gluing surface. If you make the fit so tight that you have to hammer it in you'll most likely squeeze most of the glue out. Like Glenn mentioned, what I aim for with my mortises is a snug fit. Seeing as how I'm still using a drill press and chisel to make my mortises, that snug fit eludes me on most of them as well. I'd say as long as the joint doesn't wobble that's tight enough. Personally I don't use brads on a mortise. I believe I've seen someone make a mortise with a dowel going through it but not brads.

falcon heights, minnesota