Thread: Rob Cosman Dovetail Saw

Rob Cosman Dovetail Saw

Anyone got the Rob Cosman Dovetail saw? My bosses at Woodcraft just came back from the yearly corporate conference, and he demonstrated it. Seeing as how it's about $300 I assume it's great, but have any of y'all taken the plunge? Thanks.

Hutch

Wow, for $300 it must be a heck of a saw. No experience with it myself, but then again I've got no experience with any high-end handsaws.
    When the going gets weird, the weird turn pro. - Hunter S. Thompson
    When the weird get going, they start their own forum. - Vaughn McMillan

workingwoods.com

The Link

Here's his site.

http://www.robcosman.com/tools_dtsaw.php

Also, after converting the currency it's more like $262.

It is the first time I hear about that saw, it looks great and the box is a nice wooden box ( that you pay for it as well).

My only concern would be the sinthetic handles, they may feel cold real cold in winter and slippery in summer due to sweat and skin grease, but these are only prejudices until I could try it.

I have an Adria dovetail saw and I'm quite happy with it, again as I had no chance of using others I can't compare, but one thing is true, it is not the saw who makes the dovetails but you, and if you don't practice you'll never get them right no matter what saw you use.
    Best regards,
    Toni

__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _________________
    web site:http://www.toniciuraneta.com
    I also dream of a shop with north light where my hands can be busy, my soul rest and my mind wander...

Agreed..

Yeah, I was reading your recent post about continually practicing. I agree that 'getting the feel' can only be achieved with intentional practice.

As far as the handle goes, it's an interesting idea, but I am not sure about the 'sweaty palms' issue. Maybe a little athletic tape?

Hutch

P.S. I don't plan on getting this saw. More curious than anything.