Poly Problem

I am very new to this so you'll have to forgive the newbie question.

While sanding with 400 for the final coat of poly, the layer must not have been completely dry and it pealed in a spot. I was putting wipe-on over a thicker layer that was brushed on.

Is this spot going to be hard to fix?

I'll see if i can get a picture up later on this afternoon. WIth the heavy wipe on poly will the wood be safe to use as sealed this week and then fix it next week?

It is needed for an event, and the spot is in a location that I dont think will show.

Thanks for the welcome! I have to say that this tabletop was designed by me but a friend whom is a real woodworker built it. It is the centerpiece for a gameroom and is a 2 level design. This is the base to that design. He asked if i could handle the last layer of finish and having redone my floors, I thought that I could. I now know that there is a world of difference in those two jobs!

I took some pics of the peeling and my cover-up job. It is raised in that spot now and the hope is just to sand and buff it down and out entirely.

There are a few pics included. They are of the long peel and the small one as well. The last shot makes me think that I may be over reacting and I can buff it down.

Attachments

• S5000674.JPG
    S5000674.JPG
    56.1 KB · Views: 38
  • S5000673.JPG
    S5000673.JPG
    29.7 KB · Views: 35
  • S5000672.JPG
    S5000672.JPG
    38 KB · Views: 35
  • S5000670.JPG
    S5000670.JPG
    47.2 KB · Views: 37
Last edited:
...The last shot makes me think that I may be over reacting and I can buff it down.

It makes me think that you didn't scuff-sand the original finish before you added yours.

The only right way to fix it will be to remove what you did, scuff sand what's left, and re-apply several coats of new finish, scuff sanding with 320 or 400 grit between coats.

Welcome to the clubhouse, Brian. :wave: