My First Lathe

My Jet JWL-1220VS came yesterday at 08:55 AM EDT.
About 1 hour setup time.

The lathe stand is perfect for the tool and rock solid. The stand is 36 x 20 x 36 and made of 2x4s, 2x3s, and a top of ¾” plywood. I used 3 ½” and 4” deck screws to put it together.

I had a 2 x 2 x 12 blank cut from an old surplus piece of wood. Using a roughing gouge, I seemed to get the basics of rounding the blank down quickly. Being a total turning novice, I was happy to see that I could do a simple operation without much trouble.

Thank you to all the members who gave me advice on the stand.

Congratulations!! No feeling like it in woodworking when you can make a round piece of wood out of a square piece of wood!!:thumb::thumb: That is what my woods students are doing now, love seeing the expressions on their faces when it "clicks"! Post some pictures of your lathe and the "bonker" you made.

Congratulations!! No feeling like it in woodworking when you can make a round piece of wood out of a square piece of wood!!:thumb::thumb: That is what my woods students are doing now, love seeing the expressions on their faces when it "clicks"! Post some pictures of your lathe and the "bonker" you made.
It's wierd trees grow round, lumber mills make em sruare and Turner make em round again.

Congrats on the lathe, but no pictures it didn't happen.

Thank you, all!

I tend to research things to death, so I looked at every lathe I could find on the market before making a choice.

Now to teach myself to turn. I've got The Lathe Book by Ernie Conover and Learn to Turn by Barry Gross which I bought just to learn the details and accessories of the lathe.

I'm going to get the complete Ruffin collection of books and DVDs.

Joseph,
Congrats on the new toy.
I would suggest both Bill Grumbine's & Jimmy Clews DVD's they both give yopu extreme close ups on how the tool should be used. I have the DVD's myself & I encorrage any new turner to get them.