Stain wood or leave natural

Generally speaking in woodworking, is it preferable to leave wood it's natural color when finishing or is it perfectly acceptable to stain / dye it?

I have a piece of cherry and I have already put it in the sun for a bit to darken its colors (thanks for the tips on that guys). It is pretty dark now and I'm wondering if I should leave it or stain it cherry color to prounounce the "cherry"?

thanks.

My preference is to leave cherry alone and let it develop it's own color. I suntan it to get it started and apply oil while it's in the sun.

My first preferance is to leave natural. I usualy give it a coat of BLO or Tung oil to pop the grain then use a clear finish. That said if you are trying to make a piece blend in with other pieces then I would dye/stain it. Since I make my living doing finishing I have the customer tell me what color they want and do whats needed to achieve that. Glad the sun tan helped on the cherry.

Colorants can add greatly to a wood's appearance. Just watch Jeff Jewitt, Peter Gedrys or any of the other folks who do this so well. I have started being more selective on material and opting for light oils, clear shellac or lacquer to allow the natural wood look to be prominent in my own work. Stains and dyes definitely get used here and there but generally by request, not my preference.

Being somewhat of a purest, I don't color or stain any of my work. Keep in mind that I am a turner. As I understand it, sometimes flat work is stained or colored to match existing pieces or to give the customer what they want.

Bruce

Last edited:
Generally speaking in woodworking, is it preferable to leave wood it's natural color when finishing or is it perfectly acceptable to stain / dye it?

All you're going to get are opinions, Dawson. I don't think there is a rule here.

Generally speaking, I find it preferable to ask my wife what she wants...:rofl:

I like leaving wood natural, but I also do experiment with colours a bit.