This is not wood

But for finishing it is technical. I just got in 3 old oil painting to clean and repair. Giving you the before look.

Attachments

• CIMG0164.JPG
    CIMG0164.JPG
    84.6 KB · Views: 66
  • CIMG0165.JPG
    CIMG0165.JPG
    70.5 KB · Views: 65
  • CIMG0166.JPG
    CIMG0166.JPG
    65.8 KB · Views: 66
I'm not sure what I will be doing to the frames yet. The paintings will be cleaned and whole repaired and touched up. I may gild the frames but them again I may just clean them and do the repairs to the plaster and match the patina.

What is your experience in cleaning oil paintings? I know that it is not difficult if it is only cleaning what is needed but one must use the right products or there is the danger of making a mess with them.

As some others said, I would get some info before attempting to do it.
Looking forward to see the results.:thumb:

Toni I have been cleaning paintings and repairing them for 20 years. Depending on the kind of dirt on the painting will depend on the solution I make up to clean it.
By back ground is Art major and I learned Painting conservation from a professor in College who was the curator at the Hersorne ? Museum in DC

I'll be looking forward to seeing the "after" look. :thumb: Should be an interesting transformation. I'll bet it's fun for you, bringing a painting back to life. ;)

As an artist it is exciting to be able to study how an artist paints. The process is slow but sometimes I feel like I can get inside the mind of the artist and what he is seeing as he paints. Each brush stroke, I can tell the areas he enjoyed and the areas he had troubles with.

after 5 hours of cleaning little more then have way on the 1st painting. This one has about 8 holes that need to be mended then touched up.

Attachments

• CIMG0168.JPG
    CIMG0168.JPG
    60.4 KB · Views: 42
  • CIMG0169.JPG
    CIMG0169.JPG
    63.4 KB · Views: 44
  • CIMG0170.JPG
    CIMG0170.JPG
    77.6 KB · Views: 43