Hollowing Question and Final Review-Monster Rig

Dan Mosley

Since i purchased the Monster Hollowing Rig I have turned a couple dry hollow and several green wood vessels. I wanted to put it thru the loops so to speak. I really like this tool and have have alot of fun using it. There is a learning curve to it and im still learning how to use it without making to many funnels:eek: I have made some vessels on my first tries and they turned out fine with even wall thickness.
The System comes complete and I don't think you need to buy anything additional for it. Although i did buy a indexing tool with it because i wanted one but is not necessary for hollowing rig.
The laser stayed secure the majority of the turning cycle and is a very good laser with great ease of adjustment. I said majority because i have had it move frequently on me during the hollowing of dry wood but it was because of alot of jumping while I was turning (and alot of this is in the technique on dry wood -I literally bent the shaft on one of the extensions - Randy is replacing it even though I didnt ask.... figuring it was my fault - Many thanks to his customer service even when it was my fault....:thumb:). Dry wood much harder to do obviously.
On green wood turning (which is much easier obviously) i would constantly check the laser and tweak it if i needed to but it stayed more secure on the green wood so i had minimal movement (again some jumping that can move it but my technique is not great yet). I did have to reposition during angle changes but that is required. If i was turning smoothly without the jumping and mini catches the laser stayed dead on and no adjustment was needed.