Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What Would You Buy for $20?

What Would You Buy for $20?

Over in another thread talking about a $10 discount on a $20 purchase at Woodcraft, new guy Joseph asked this question...

Quote Originally Posted by Joseph Shaul View Post
    I'm new to woodworking. Assuming I have $10 ($20 post-discount), what do I buy?
    I thought about it for awhile, but didn't have a definitive answer. I figured it'd be a good spark to start an interesting conversation. What do you consider essential in the shop -- that can be had for $20 or less?

Here are a few thoughts to get the ball rolling. I'm going to say the suggestions don't necessarily have to involve purchasing from Woodcraft.

For $20 or less...

• A good tape measure or rule
    • A decent square
    • A couple pipe clamps
    • A case of pop (barley or otherwise) to bribe a woodworker into giving a little hands-on mentoring

Let's hear your ideas.

[Pushes the podium out to the middle of the room]
    When the going gets weird, the weird turn pro. - Hunter S. Thompson
    When the weird get going, they start their own forum. - Vaughn McMillan

workingwoods.com

bethel springs TN, but was born and raised in north east PA
    Lets see.
    roll of blue tape
    glue
    sand paper
    brad gun (hf) i have 2 from hf and 1 senco.
    4 cans rattle can laquer
    My brain ain't woke up yet but i'm sure i could come up with a lot more.

Well, with a pair of vice grips, a multi-tip screwdriver, a roll of duct tape and some bailing wire, I can fix just about anything

....but that is not really wood working is it?

I think that the most useful tool in the shop is often knowledge and that comes with experience for the most part, but I do find good books of great value.