Acoustic Guitar

Alan Drummie

Hi all I'm just a newbie here and with my wood craft, but building my guitar has
certainly shown me that given time and a little help from a master luthier "Dave King" and his articles in Guitar and bass magazine the most difficult of tasks can be accomplished. Yes I made a few boboos along the way but managed to rise above them and now I look at the finished project and am amazed that I actually have a guitar to be proud of and it sounds as good as it looks. I have a Gibson J200 which I bought way back in 1965 it must be feeling a little put out hanging on it's rack as I ignore it for the younger kid on the block.
I'll put a few more pics in my album but here's one to be going on with.

Attachments

• guitar16.jpg
    guitar16.jpg
    18.3 KB · Views: 56
  • guitar17.jpg
    guitar17.jpg
    17.5 KB · Views: 55
  • guitar18.jpg
    guitar18.jpg
    36.6 KB · Views: 55
  • guitar20.jpg
    guitar20.jpg
    54.4 KB · Views: 57
That's gorgeous, Alan. Whether it's number 1 or number 100, you did a beautiful job on it. :clap: I'm another of those "one of these days I'm gonna build a guitar" guys, too. :rolleyes: :p

If that is your first guitar, I got to ask if you are related to Drew, the guy that turns perfect eggs on his knees on his new lathe before he got a stand built :D

Very nice work Alan, I can't play the guitar to save my life, but I can appreciate a well made instrument.

Thanks for sharing the pics with us! :thumb:

Welcome Alan, that is a great guitar, especially for a first :thumb: I ditto the "one of these days I'll build a guitar" idea. Although I think I'll start with an electric because I heard it's easier :) So that being said too, really points out that you did an excellent job! Did you find it difficult to cut all of the frets in their proper places?