jewelry chest in progress

Here's a couple of pics of a jewelery chest I've been working on for my daughter for WAY to long. It's been one of those work on a few hours then it sits for a few weeks. I've decided it's time to get this thing finished.

The two pics are with the doors leaned against the case and the second is with the drawer fronts just stuck where they go. The two drawer panels where book matched, but when I planed them the color changed.:dunno: I've got the drawer parts cut and will start on them tonight. It'll have 3 drawers in the bottom. The wood is mahogany and ambrosia maple. When I get ready to hang the doors I'm planning on using knife hinges. I've never used them before so I'll be asking some questions. The big gap at the top of the bottom drawers isn't really that big, it's because I have the fronts pulled forward.

Attachments

• chest 002 (Medium).jpg
    chest 002 (Medium).jpg
    55.8 KB · Views: 137
  • chest 004 (Medium).jpg
    chest 004 (Medium).jpg
    54.2 KB · Views: 131
I have those projects to. That is going to be striking. Mahogany and spalted ??? You may have just inspired me to go finish a couple small items that have been ignored for too long. Thanks!

John this is going to turn out sweet , and great choice on woods > the door insert is real pretty . Well done :thumb:.............Marshall

john , i learned in a history class, that rome wasnt built in a day, but that it was something spectacular:) so do fret the time frame on your project.. and when you do book matching with spaulted wood or in this case ambrosia the bugs dont go the same way each time its just the nature of it so your panels are book matched just the bugs had different ides while en route:) that is gonna be really nice when you get the finish on it,, :thumb::thumb:

Last edited:
Here's a couple shots of the drawers finished and fitted.

Thanks Larry for suggesting the wooden runners, once waxed they'll work like a charm.