Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: jewelry chest in progress

jewelry chest in progress

Here's a couple of pics of a jewelery chest I've been working on for my daughter for WAY to long. It's been one of those work on a few hours then it sits for a few weeks. I've decided it's time to get this thing finished.

The two pics are with the doors leaned against the case and the second is with the drawer fronts just stuck where they go. The two drawer panels where book matched, but when I planed them the color changed. I've got the drawer parts cut and will start on them tonight. It'll have 3 drawers in the bottom. The wood is mahogany and ambrosia maple. When I get ready to hang the doors I'm planning on using knife hinges. I've never used them before so I'll be asking some questions. The big gap at the top of the bottom drawers isn't really that big, it's because I have the fronts pulled forward.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails chest 002 (Medium).jpg   chest 004 (Medium).jpg  

I have those projects to. That is going to be striking. Mahogany and spalted ??? You may have just inspired me to go finish a couple small items that have been ignored for too long. Thanks!
    Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic.
    - Arthur C. Clarke

I agree with Glenn. That's going to look sweet when it's done.
    When the going gets weird, the weird turn pro. - Hunter S. Thompson
    When the weird get going, they start their own forum. - Vaughn McMillan

workingwoods.com

The wood is amazing and I love the design. Can't wait to see it finished
    Faith, Hope & Charity

John this is going to turn out sweet , and great choice on woods > the door insert is real pretty . Well done .............Marshall
    Usually Busier than a Cat In A sand Box : Arkansas Red Wolf & Razorbacks Fan