Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Sewer smells

Sewer smells

Got a mystery on my hands and someone probably knows the answer. I started getting a sewer smell in my house the last few days. Being a Home Inspector I can find it, right? I understand the basics of plumbing and first suspected a P trap had lost it's water seal. So I went to the bathtubs and ran water since they are least used fixtures in the house. Assuming the water had evaporated in the P trap. This happened once before so I was sure that was it.

Didn't fix it.

So I ran water in all the fixtures just to make sure the P-traps had water in them. Still smell it.

I have partial basement and 85% of the plumbing is in there. I smell it there and that may be where the smell starts and works into the house. No plumbing leaks and I use the fixtures down there regular too. But I ran water in all them to make sure they were sealed too.

That didn't work so this morning I crawled under the house. I am thinking a line might have broke in the crawl space. Nope and no leaks or smell there either. Then I Climbed on the roof to check the vents and everything looks good.

Now I am stumped! The only way I know for a smell from the septic tank to get into the house is though a drain line. Either a broken line or empty P trap and I can't find either. Anyone think of something I missing?
    God grant me the senility to forget the people I never liked anyway,
    the good fortune to run into the ones I do,
    and the eyesight to tell the difference.

Kudzu Craft Lightweight Skin on frame Kayaks.
    Custom built boats and Kits

vent might be plugged?
    [SIZE="1"] associated with several importers and manufacturers.[/SIZE]

The one drain that gets forgotten alot is the floor drain in the utility room in our basement. It has a p-trap too but it's below the concrete floor.
    Ken
    ------