Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Cherry Bedside table

Cherry Bedside table

My wife wanted a new table for beside the bed and was getting a touch annoyed that everything I was making I was giving away to the kids. We both are really into early American, colonial and shaker style.
    I've never worked with cherry before but I was real happy with how easy the wood was to work with. I really love working with hardwoods.
    Kind of disappointed in the finish. The top looks blotchy and I don't know why. It is finished with 3 coats of BLO and 3 coats of rub on poly. Any ideas on how I screwed it up is greatly appreciated.
    Next is a hope chest for my oldest daughter then a slant front desk for my 3rd oldest daughter.
    I'm thinking of mahogany for the desk. I found a place locally today that has clear 1x6 s4s 12' planks for $3.50 bf. Gotta check around to see if that's a good deal or not.
    As usual comments and suggestions greatly appreciated.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P4050333 (600 x 450).jpg 
Views:	51 
Size:	55.6 KB 
ID:	44226

Name:	P4050334 (600 x 450).jpg 
Views:	47 
Size:	58.8 KB 
ID:	44227

Name:	P4050335 (600 x 450).jpg 
Views:	55 
Size:	56.4 KB 
ID:	44228
    Faith, Hope & Charity

Bob Cherry is my favorite wood. You have soft and hard grain on the top piece. The soft will take the finish different from the hard. If you take it back down and apply 2 thinned coats of shellac mixed 50/50 with alcohol this will allot a even color tone when you apply the BLO. You did go natural right ?
    I dream a lot. I do more painting when I'm not painting. It's in the subconscious.
    ::: Andrew Wyeth :::
    colonialrestorationstudio.com

The table looks very pretty!

Dave, by hard and soft grain, what exactly do you mean? Do you mean how the legs looks quartersawn while the wide flat pieces look flatsawn?

looks great to me, 3.5 a bf surfaced on all sides? that is a great price for mahogany.

Very nicely executed!