Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Welding

Welding

I have little (very little) experience with welding and one of my clients wants me to weld the hinges to his doors to the metal door frames.

This is a common practice here so I was thinking that it might be a good idea to buy my own machine instead of borrowing from my cousin. So I was wondering what would be a good machine to get for small jobs. And also more importantly I would like it to be a little easier to use than what I am using now.

Right now I am using a machine that is basicly 2 car jumper cables and a sparkler. I dont know how else to describe it. 1 cable clamps to the work and the other holds the sparkler. It is a PITA to use.

Is there any hope?
    Last edited by Allen Grimes; 01-28-2007 at 05:31 PM.

Steve Clardy Guest
    What you have is a stick welder.
    You probably need a portable wire welder.

[Never heard of welding hinges to the door frames ]

Allen,

What type of metal are the hinges and door frame? If they are just plane old iorn or steel you can use something like this. These types of units are very easy to use. http://www.northerntool.com/webapp/w...8739_200318739

If they are stainless steel or some other material that requires a sheilding gas you will have to go for a more complete welder.

Stick welders are very difficult to use unless you weld all of the time, especially if you want it to look good as well as getting a good weld.

I hope that links are acceptable here. I guess that I should read the rules again.

Allen
    Last edited by Allen Bookout; 01-28-2007 at 10:52 PM.