Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Sort of off-beat request

Sort of off-beat request

I am writing/taping another woodworking book/video. When I did the Router Joinery Workshop, I had a newbie friend who also happened to be an editor. If she understood and could do what I was writing about, I had a winner. That book was published in 2003, and there has not been one single request to make a change because something was found to be incorrect. I found that to be rather amazing and it was in huge part because it was 'field-proven' before it went to print.

Since this book/video will be on basic woodworking as in total newbie beginning, I would like to find someone local to mentor and quiz along the way. As I am in the beautiful mountains of Arizona 100 miles from a larger metropolitan area, finding a local is the goal.

The usual sources, like a club, or local lumber yard is not available to me to make my need public. There is a local paper in a town 20 miles away, but my experience has been that few read it, considering it relatively useless.

How does one find wanna-be's?

Any suggestions?

What a cool idea Carol.

Hmm, I'm guessing you are in a relatively sparsely populated area?

Are there any types of community/county meetings you could attend? I know our little area has a monthly "Citizens Advisory Board" meeting where issues concerning our little chunk of the county are discussed.

Maybe you could ask the members of your congregation for any leads?
    Programmer - An organism that turns coffee into software.
    If all your friends are exactly like you, What an un-interesting life it must be.
    "A door is what a dog is perpetually on the wrong side of" Ogden Nash

if i understood you correctly your looking for a person to teach and ask question as to how to properly do the whole beginning stages of woodworking.. if so try the local schools and see if they have a wood shop class yet and if so you are looking for a special someone to do this with.