Woodworking plans - Which is the best woodworking guide?

john lee

Hello folks! I'm a woodworking newbie & I wanna invest meself in one of these woodworking guides but i cant make up my mind on choosing the best.

which diy guide is better?:huh:
Tedswoodworking or Woodworking4home?

Tedswoodworking comes with 16,000 woodworking plans at a price of $67, but Woodworking4home is cheaper at $49 with 14,000 woodworking plans.

has anyone bought these guides?
are they good or scam?
are they worth buying?
please help me out!:wave:

thanks & God bless ya'll

John, welcome to the forum. :wave:I don't own either of those books. I'd recommend that you enroll in a course if you want to learn how instead of spending the money on any books. Many local schools, comunity colleges offer begining woodworking classes and you'll get a lot more out it then you would with any Do it yourself books. Where are you located maybe someone is in your area and cold offer some guidance.

There is an article in the May 2010 issue of Wood magazine by Tom Lovino "The Shop Monkey" called 'Monkey Business" that addresses this very issue.

Basically, the gist of it is that these 'collections' of plans are typically poorly done, that they may not actually own the copyrights to the plans, and that they typically lack the type of instruction that someone new to the craft might need in order to be successful.

He suggests either going to the library and checking out the books or to subscribe to a few decent magazines.

Hello folks! I'm a woodworking newbie & I wanna invest meself in one of these woodworking guides but i cant make up my mind on choosing the best.

which diy guide is better?:huh:
Tedswoodworking or Woodworking4home?

Tedswoodworking comes with 16,000 woodworking plans at a price of $67, but Woodworking4home is cheaper at $49 with 14,000 woodworking plans.

has anyone bought these guides?
are they good or scam?
are they worth buying?
please help me out!:wave:

thanks & God bless ya'll