Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Newbie from Indianapolis

Newbie from Indianapolis

Hi everyone! My name is Ashley (as seen by my handle, of course) and I'm a complete newbie to the forums. In fact, I'm a complete newbie to woodworking! My husband of 6 years has been a huge woodworking buff and he figured I should get involved with his shenanigans. . . . and the kids too.

Anyway, he suggested that I find a forum or join a workshop to help me get started. For me, the easiest thing was to find a forum -- and low and behold, this is probably the most (eerily) perfect forum I could find. Our goal for the end of this summer is to make our own patio furniture. Will it work out? Who knows? We're certainly gonna try. In the meantime, I'll browse the forums, ask questions and hopefully make some neat friends.

Seeya around, everyone!
    Can I make my own patio furniture? You bet your sweet bippy, I can.

somewhere east of Queen Creek, AZ - South East of Phoenix
    Hi Ashley and welcome. We go quite a few hoosiers here in the Family. I do need to wornya though that the bearded guy from Michigan has been known to travel to you state also so beware.
    "There’s a lot of work being done today that doesn’t have any soul in it. The technique may be the utmost perfection, yet it is lifeless. It doesn’t have a soul. I hope my furniture has a soul to it." - Sam Maloof
    The Pessimist complains about the wind; The Optimist expects it to change;The Realist adjusts the sails.~ William Arthur Ward

Kansas City, Missouri
    Welcome to the family Ashley!

There are a couple of folks on here that have built their own patio furniture, I'm sure they'll introduce themselves soon enough.

P.S. We like lots of project pics, no pics...didn't happen.

To a small child, the perfect granddad is unafraid of big dogs and fierce storms but absolutely terrified of the word “boo.” – Robert Brault

Well as soon as we get started, I'll be sure to post some pics! Thanks for the welcome, guys!