Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Ryobi router table switch gone bad

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    new york city burbs
    Posts
    10,188

    Ryobi router table switch gone bad

    I know this tabletop router table I bought used from some guy with the router is not a great item. But, Ive used the table dozens of times, and actually have grown to like it.
    The router plugs in underneath to a power switch with another cord to plug in for power. The ryobi switch on the table stopped working yesterday.
    Is there something I should look for in the switch that I can fix. I really dont want to buy a new power switch, but its so much more convenient using this on off method than reaching underneath looking for the router switch.
    Can I rig any kind of light switch type in its place?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    ABQ NM
    Posts
    30,020
    Yep, you can rig a regular old light switch and socket to do the same thing. Or get a switched outlet like this:



    Another easy alternative (for about the same price) would be something like this:



    It's listed about 2/3 of the way down this page:

    http://ptreeusa.com/routerControls.htm
    When the going gets weird, the weird turn pro. - Hunter S. Thompson
    When the weird get going, they start their own forum. - Vaughn McMillan

    workingwoods.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Oak Harbor Washington on Whidbey Island
    Posts
    3,134
    I've taken a few of these switches apart & cleaned them & got them working again.
    "Forget the flat stuff slap something on the spinny thing and lets go, we're burning daylight" Bart Leetch
    "If it ain't round you may be a knuckle dragger""Turners drag their nuckles too, they just do it at a higher RPM"Bart

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    GTA Ontario Canada
    Posts
    12,260
    Yeah Bart I agree but consider Allens condition. Also if it has already got filled with dust from use its only going to be a matter of time before it repeats the process.

    Allen my vote is with Vaughns solutions. Just replace it and then you really can put the receptacle and the switch where you want it and its convenient to you for your needs.
    cheers

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    new york city burbs
    Posts
    10,188
    I dont think Ill spend 30 bucks with shipping on a switch for this. I only paid 75 bucks for the table and router, and bit set together.
    Ill go with bart for now, Ill have my son take it apart tomorrow and see if cleaning it out helps. If not, I think its the 2.29 light switch and outlet combo.

  6. #6
    Hey Allen if you got a spare power strip use that for the time being.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Oak Harbor Washington on Whidbey Island
    Posts
    3,134
    Here is what I did.

    I received a Rockler router table top a while back from a friend that got it free from a garage sale, I gladly paid him $20 for it & put it on top of a plywood box made to clamp to a workmate & then put my free promo 2 HP Hitachi router underneath it & a plug strip with switch near the bottom of the plywood box on the in-feed side of the box
    "Forget the flat stuff slap something on the spinny thing and lets go, we're burning daylight" Bart Leetch
    "If it ain't round you may be a knuckle dragger""Turners drag their nuckles too, they just do it at a higher RPM"Bart

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    new york city burbs
    Posts
    10,188
    I opened it up, and guess what, its just a switch
    a simple, little switch. And I cleaned it out, popped out the leads and wiped them with an eraser and tried again, nada.
    the switch is gone to switch heaven I guess.
    For now, I had taken a short extension with a switch and 4 outlet box on it, so I dont have to fumble for the router switch.
    The power strip seems like a good idea. I have a few laying around,and I can either tap a screw into the table's leg to hold it in place, or the screw for the switch is very high, Im sure one screw will hold it in place.
    Ive got limited knowledge, almost none when it comes to anything electric.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails bed 445 (Medium).jpg   bed 447 (Medium).jpg   bed 449 (Medium).jpg   bed 450 (Medium).jpg  

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    new york city burbs
    Posts
    10,188

    he fixed it!

    I know its nothing to you guys, but he took all the pieces out and showed me the two small metal pieces inside had a tiny piece of sawdust preventing contact of them, and that's why it didnt go on.
    It works again. Im happy.
    Good to have a kid around thats helpful.

  10. #10
    one speck of saw dust will stop contract, glad your son got it fix

Similar Threads

  1. Router switch upgrade
    By Darren Wright in forum New Tools
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-05-2014, 03:52 PM
  2. Ryobi tabletop router table and router combo
    By allen levine in forum Off Topic Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-05-2010, 02:02 AM
  3. Ryobi router dust collection-?
    By Dave Hanson in forum Jigs and Fixtures
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-01-2010, 11:22 PM
  4. Ryobi router table throat plates recalled
    By Jonathan Shively in forum New Tools
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-10-2007, 04:11 AM
  5. My old ryobi table router has bit the dust
    By Jim Hager in forum General Woodworking Q&A
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-13-2007, 01:01 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •