Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Drilling a lamp

Drilling a lamp

I want to try and make a lamp but don't have any idea where to get a drill bit that would be long enough to drill out the center. Is there a special trick or drill bit that I need to use. I would think a regular drill bit would wander all over the place. I want to make the lamp at least 12 inchs tall and that is just the wood. Any one made one or have any idea where to get what I need.

ABQ NM
    Dennis, I know some folks use a 'gun drill' for that type of long hole. I have no personal experience to offer on using one or where to buy it, but I figured knowing the name might give you a starting point.
    When the going gets weird, the weird turn pro. - Hunter S. Thompson
    When the weird get going, they start their own forum. - Vaughn McMillan

Amherst, New Hampshire
    I have several "bell hanger" bits. They are used by electricians. They work well if you keep the drilling pressure light and clear the hole frequently.
    Faith, Hope & Charity

Tokyo Japan
    I think you will drill from both ends, and yes there is a special bit for doing this, as it is long and has to easily clear the chips.

I think you also need a special hollow live center for this too.

I remember an article in the AAW magazine about it last year....

Time to fire up google
    The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects it to change; the realist adjusts the sails.
    William Arthur Ward

North West Indiana
    Our local lumber yard had a bit when I needed one for students that were turning lamps. It needed cleaned frequently. We turned, sanded and then finished the lamp on the lathe, then we would clamp it in the vise and stand over it on a chair and using a hand held drill, drill through. We took the measurement of the rod that goes through and then got the bit.
    God and family, the rest is icing on the cake.

I'm so far behind, I think I'm in first place.

Premier Bovine Scatologist