Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: World Cup...

World Cup...

Congratulations to Spain.

I'm no expert at the game, but I have to say I was rather disappointed, and that isn't just because I was cheering for The Netherlands. It was not a very nice game. The ref was very aggressive I thought, handing out yellow cards left and right, and there were a couple of very glaring missed calls.
    There's usually more than one way to do it...
    www.wordsnwood.com ........ facebook.com/wordsnwood

Yeppers. congrats to Spain.

Quote Originally Posted by Art Mulder View Post
    ...there were a couple of very glaring missed calls.
    Apparently that's considered a vital part of the sport. I've read a lot of comments supporting the status quo.
    When the going gets weird, the weird turn pro. - Hunter S. Thompson
    When the weird get going, they start their own forum. - Vaughn McMillan

workingwoods.com

I watched a bit of it, and was convinced that the officiating in soccer, er, football, is part of the randomness of the game. But congrats to Espana for the totally inspirational 1-0 win!
    Programmer - An organism that turns coffee into software.
    If all your friends are exactly like you, What an un-interesting life it must be.
    "A door is what a dog is perpetually on the wrong side of" Ogden Nash

Congrats to Spain, I know some Spanish guys here who are over the moon that they won, but even they have complained about the really boring play that Spain used to get there.

I hear it was a real thug-fest

I've read some accounts online, and some of the sports writers are saying the English ref could have and should have gone to the yellow card more often and sooner. "The Dutch gooned it up and Spain had to answer", is what I'm reading. The ref gave out 14 yellow cards, the previous record was 6 yellow cards in the 1986 final between West Germany and Argentina, more than a two fold increase