Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Which router for hobbyist?

Yankton, SD

Which router for hobbyist?

I'm looking to get my first router. I haven't really started reading any reviews yet but I thought I'd start here first in my research. I am a hobbyist woodcarver and I would like to start making my own bases for my carvings. I would prefer using hardwoods for my bases (oak, walnut, etc.). So, in your opinion what are some good decent routers for the occasional hobbyist? I should say I want the router to be a plunge router for doing some relief carving too. Should I be thinking of a router table also? If so, any advise on the tables? Do some manufacturers sell a router with a table? Keep in mind I've never owned a router. Only woodworking power tools I own are a 14" bandsaw, 6" jointer, belt/palm sanders, skil saw and way too many carving tools. I know what you're thinking where is his table saw, well that is on my wish list.

somewhere east of Queen Creek, AZ - South East of Phoenix
    I own 4 router and by far my favorite is the Milwaukii 5615-24. It come with two based a fixed and plunge as well as both size collets. if you keep you eye out you can pick it up on amazon for around $100.
    "There’s a lot of work being done today that doesn’t have any soul in it. The technique may be the utmost perfection, yet it is lifeless. It doesn’t have a soul. I hope my furniture has a soul to it." - Sam Maloof
    The Pessimist complains about the wind; The Optimist expects it to change;The Realist adjusts the sails.~ William Arthur Ward

Kansas City, Missouri
    I, like Don, have a plunge and fixed based router setup (porter cable 690). These give a lot of versatility and can get after market bases and tables for. I don't think my model is made anymore though.

One think you'll want to research is bits. For doing rough outs for carving, an up or down spiral bit is great for cutting elevations in your work prior to doing any carving work on the piece.