Thread: Atlas Drill Press

Atlas Drill Press

Still needing a larger drill press I came across a ad on craigs list for a Atlas drill press for sale $75 asking and thru email would take $50. It has a 1 hp motor, 5/8 chuck, table goes up and down but does not tilt......probably built in the early 40's at a guess....states everything is there except belt cover.......seems may be a good ole machine to restore......thinking hard about this one..............any thoughts out there?

see pic below
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails SD530761.jpg  
    First you have to learn the rules - Beginner
    Then you have to learn advanced rules - Professional
    Then you disregard the rules - This takes you to the master level................

I have no personal experience with Atlas tools, but it's my understanding that they made good quality machinery. For $50 I don't see how you can lose. If you end up not liking it, I'm pretty sure you could get your money back selling it again on Craig's List. The 1 hp motor is a good thing. The non-tilting table wouldn't bother me. (The one time I've needed to tilt the table on mine, I needed to tilt it front to back, not sideways, so I just built a temporary wedge-shaped auxiliary table to hold the workpiece.) It'd be nice if the table had a rack and pinion for raising and lowering it, but at $50, that wouldn't be a deal breaker.

My vote would be buy it if everything runs and there's no obvious looseness in the quill and chuck. I'm curious to see what any of the other guys think.
    When the going gets weird, the weird turn pro. - Hunter S. Thompson
    When the weird get going, they start their own forum. - Vaughn McMillan

workingwoods.com

Quote Originally Posted by Vaughn McMillan View Post