Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Line Tool with new SU version

  1. #1

    Line Tool with new SU version

    The line tool in the new non pro version always starts a new line at the end point of line. Can this be turned off ??
    I know I can hit escape after each line but I'd prefer the default to not do this
    Dan

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    SE Minnesota
    Posts
    2,468
    I'm not sure I follow what you mean Dan. Could you give my poor old brain a bit of clarification?
    Irony: The opposite of Wrinkly

  3. #3
    Dave I had a feeling that description was maybe not to clear

    Hows this
    1 Select the pencil
    2 mouse click once to start the line
    3 move the mouse to draw the line and mouse click to end the line

    At this point the tool has ended the line but also started a new line at the same point. So if I kept going a few more clicks and moves I'd have 1 line with many segemnts

    Unless I hit the escape key I cant move the pencil to start a new line at a new starting position.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Oak Harbor Washington on Whidbey Island
    Posts
    3,083
    I agree this make this tool very hard to use.
    "Forget the flat stuff slap something on the spinny thing and lets go, we're burning daylight" Bart Leetch
    "If it ain't round you may be a knuckle dragger""Turners drag their nuckles too, they just do it at a higher RPM"Bart

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    somewhere east of Queen Creek, AZ - South East of Phoenix
    Posts
    8,438
    Hmm I don't understand Mine doesn't do that unless I double click at the end point.
    "There’s a lot of work being done today that doesn’t have any soul in it. The technique may be the utmost perfection, yet it is lifeless. It doesn’t have a soul. I hope my furniture has a soul to it." - Sam Maloof
    The Pessimist complains about the wind; The Optimist expects it to change;The Realist adjusts the sails.~ William Arthur Ward

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    somewhere east of Queen Creek, AZ - South East of Phoenix
    Posts
    8,438
    Try this.
    Click on Windows, then Preferances then select Drawing. Make sure that the box marked continue drawing is unchecked. That should solve the problem.
    "There’s a lot of work being done today that doesn’t have any soul in it. The technique may be the utmost perfection, yet it is lifeless. It doesn’t have a soul. I hope my furniture has a soul to it." - Sam Maloof
    The Pessimist complains about the wind; The Optimist expects it to change;The Realist adjusts the sails.~ William Arthur Ward

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    SE Minnesota
    Posts
    2,468
    You guys don't need me. Good on you Don.

    Did that answer your question Dan. SU Pro has always had the default be continue with the Line tool and I'm just used to it.
    Irony: The opposite of Wrinkly

  8. #8
    You da Man Don. thanks
    I knew there was a way cause my older version at work didn't do this. Kept looking in model info and fergot about preferences

Similar Threads

  1. Sketchup - Segmented Line Drawing Tool/Plugin?
    By David Agnew in forum Designs, Plans and Sketches
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-02-2015, 06:54 PM
  2. sketchup free version ? pro version?
    By keith Boutselis in forum Designs, Plans and Sketches
    Replies: 34
    Last Post: 11-28-2012, 01:26 AM
  3. New scarfing jig * Version 3.0
    By Jeff Horton in forum Jigs and Fixtures
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 02-26-2011, 11:13 AM
  4. Performance Line Tool Center GREAT PLACE TO DO BUSINESS WITH
    By Ron Jones in forum General Woodworking Q&A
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-03-2009, 01:51 AM
  5. TLC, TS version
    By Ned Bulken in forum General Woodworking Q&A
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 07-07-2008, 03:36 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •