Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Non Mandrel bushings?

Non Mandrel bushings?

Someone posted a link to a guy in Canada that sold several types of non-mandrel bushings. I bought some for Jr Gent's and Cigar's and was trying to get more info about the other mechanics's involved. Les said he didn't post it...anyone have a clue...I'm kinda lost?
    Your Respiratory Therapist wears Combat boots

This guy sells them, but I don't think he is in Canada

http://www.penturnersproducts.com/

They are considered very good. I don't own any.. yet.

That's the guy. My question is what is needed for the head drive? I have a 60 degree tail stock and a spur drive for the head. I'm seeing an issue with friction and no grab on the head side. Ideas?
    Your Respiratory Therapist wears Combat boots

I have a 60' dead center for the head stock. I've turned a few blanks that way with no bushing, but it is dangerous. Too much pressure and you expand the tubes. Anyway you want a 60' dead center for the head stock. I can't remember where I got mine but I'm sure woodcraft, PSI or one of those types will have them, fact I bet JohnnyCNC has them on his site.

Here they are:

http://penturnersproducts.com/index....rd=dead+center
    Last edited by Paul Douglass; 08-26-2010 at 03:05 AM.

johnnycnc has a reputation for quality. Aside from that, I don't see much difference between his offerings and regular 'no mandrel' turning.
    "Folks is funny critters."

Think for yourselves and let others enjoy the privilege to do so, too. ~Voltaire

Brooklin ON -- 45 mins. NE of Toronto, ON
    Quote Originally Posted by Frank Fusco View Post
    johnnycnc has a reputation for quality. Aside from that, I don't see much difference between his offerings and regular 'no mandrel' turning.