Is this Wood Vice O.K. ?

Ron Potter

My local hardware store has a 7" wood vice . Its the only one they have in stock. I was wondering if any of you guys are familar with vices , a USA company in Cleveland that manufactors this vice. Recently I guess Wilton bought out Columbian. Anyway, it is priced at 49.99 . Additionally it is model 33178 and is described as a light-duty woodworkers vice on a web page that also sells it at almost half the price the hardware store is asking.

I know one can spend hundreds of dollars on a wood vice. I am just starting out and do not want to spend a bunch on a vice at this time. However , I do want a vice can perform most woodworking chores . As I have only a temporary bench at the moment (plan on building a woodworking bench) This vice does not or will not neccesarily end up on the bench I build.

The vice is 7" wide and opens 8" max. Looks like a typical woodworking vice.

Should note that my temporary bench is stationary at the moment and will remain so for the time being anyway.

Last edited:
Hi Ron. I'm not much help on the vise, but wanted to welcome you to the clubhouse. :wave: I have a 9" vise similar to the one you're looking at, but it's still sitting in the box on a shelf, since I've not yet built a bench to put it on. :doh:

I suspect for $50 you might have better luck looking for a used vise on Craigslist, but some of the other folks here will know more than me about vises. Also, if you put your location in your profile, there may be someone here who knows of something available in your area. The location doesn't have to be real specific, but it's sometimes easier for others to help out if they have a general idea what part of the country you're from. ;)

Hi Ron, welcome to the Family :wave:

I think that vice for $24 would be great as a starter vice, but for $50, I don't think I'd get it.

Woodcraft has >> THIS << vice on sale right now for $17.5