Is a root ball turnable?

Tom Baugues

I helped my brother pull some shrubs from my parents home this weekend. These had been planted about 40 years ago. When we got them broke loose the color of the base was fantastic. Is this usable? I brought two of them home with me and hosed off the dirt. Each base is about 6-7 inches across and about 8-10 inches tall. do they need to be sealed? or can I turn them now???

Thanks,
Tom

Attachments

• Root ball 1.jpg
    Root ball 1.jpg
    83.2 KB · Views: 79
  • Root ball 2.jpg
    Root ball 2.jpg
    89.1 KB · Views: 91
Me not being a turner can even answer this one....YES:D there have been many awesome root ball turnings shown here. I am sure Vaughn and others will jump in and show you examples:thumb:

Yup

I'm a novice turner so I can only give you my limited advice.

"Grip it and rip it"

With color like that I'd try even if the results were horrible.

Nope. Can't be done. :rofl:

Myoporum Bowl 1- 01 800.jpg Ralph's Root 1 - 800.jpg Ash Root Ball Bowl 2 - 01 800.jpg

They are a challenge for sure, but the results can be pretty cool.

Bowl 19 - 04 800.jpg Bowl 043 - 01 800.jpg Bowl 058 - 02 800.jpg

Sharp tools, light cuts, safety gear, and caution are you need. I also like to pressure wash the roots before I get into them with the chainsaw or gouges. You'll still likely hit some rocks or other hard stuff, but the more you can wash away, the better.

Vaughn, thank you for that. Your finished product is amazing! Is it suggested that it dry out first?

Tom, the ones I've done so far have been somewhat wet when first turned, so I roughed/dried/re-turned them about the same as I would any other wet wood. I've got another big myoporum root in my woodpile that was cut three or four years ago, so I'm guessing it's pretty dry by now. As soon as I work up the motivation (and courage) to turn it, I'll find out if dry is better than wet. :D