Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Sears 15 inch Variable Speed lathe; help!

Sears 15 inch Variable Speed lathe; help!

Hello, all! I am a newbie in Glendale CA. I just bought a used 15" lathe, it runs, but as-is. Can anyone advise me as to a) What kind of lubricant to put in the drive b) Specs on the belt c) preventative maintenance on the shaft which holds the sliding split pulley, and d) any advice on replacing the lever handles on the tailstock and toolrest. This is not the current 175 lb. lathe, this is the older monster which weighs about 400 pounds.

somewhere east of Queen Creek, AZ - South East of Phoenix
    Brian,
    I am not familiar with the lathe but I am sure someone will be able to help out. I just wanted to say welcome and when you get time there a thread where you can introduce yourself to the forum..
    "There’s a lot of work being done today that doesn’t have any soul in it. The technique may be the utmost perfection, yet it is lifeless. It doesn’t have a soul. I hope my furniture has a soul to it." - Sam Maloof
    The Pessimist complains about the wind; The Optimist expects it to change;The Realist adjusts the sails.~ William Arthur Ward

Welcome to the Family, Brian. And welcome to the spinny world too.
    It sound like you are describing a Reeves drive unit. If it works, no much has to be done to keep it working. A few drops of good lubricant, like a gun lube, on the shaft once or twice a year should be sufficient. Belts can give out. Having a spare on hand is a good idea.
    Other than that, enjoy.
    "Folks is funny critters."

Think for yourselves and let others enjoy the privilege to do so, too. ~Voltaire

Welcome Brian. I am about 22 miles SW of you.

I don't have any advice on your lathe issue. I am sure others will guide you into the right direction though.

Cant help ya Brian but I can say WELCOME to the Family
    A Turn N Time
    Components for John Smith Organs and the Hobby Organ Builder

Frog Pond Guitars