Sears 15 inch Variable Speed lathe; help!

Brian White

Hello, all! I am a newbie in Glendale CA. I just bought a used 15" lathe, it runs, but as-is. Can anyone advise me as to a) What kind of lubricant to put in the drive b) Specs on the belt c) preventative maintenance on the shaft which holds the sliding split pulley, and d) any advice on replacing the lever handles on the tailstock and toolrest. This is not the current 175 lb. lathe, this is the older monster which weighs about 400 pounds.

Welcome to the Family, Brian. And welcome to the spinny world too.
It sound like you are describing a Reeves drive unit. If it works, no much has to be done to keep it working. A few drops of good lubricant, like a gun lube, on the shaft once or twice a year should be sufficient. Belts can give out. Having a spare on hand is a good idea.
Other than that, enjoy.

Brain Welcome to the clubhouse.

I would suggest a couple of things to make it easier to help you.

1) Take a picture if you can of your lathe.
2) See if you can find the actual craftsman model number and post that as well.

In general terms Frank has answered your question. But you mention a lot more which is hard to comment on without seeing which one it is.

You might want to mention how much you picked it up for as well.

The reason i say this is the guys that are trully in the know will tell you if its worth the cost/effort of modification given its age or whether it is a good old keeper and worth the touch up.

If you need help with pictures holler. There is a step by step instructions on how to post pictures on the forum here if you need help.

If you have a model number, you might be able to go to the Sear website, go tp parts and search that model. They may still have the parts drawings for that lathe. There is also a website for restoring old equipment but I can't find it right now. Very much worth some searching. It has a forum and all kinds of info on older machines. Yours may be on there.